JOHN ARKINSTALL STATE TEAMS SYDNEY METROPOLITAN ZONE METROPOLITAN FINAL SUPPLEMENTARY TOURNAMENT REGULATIONS

- 1. The State Open Teams Championship is conducted under the Laws of Duplicate Bridge 2007 and the Tournament Regulations of the New South Wales Bridge Association, as amended.
- 2. Qualifying for the Final Series is divided into 5 zones:
 - The Sydney Metropolitan Zone qualifies 2 teams to the Final Series via the Metropolitan Final.
 - The Country Teams Championship qualifies 3 teams to the Final Series, one from each of the Northern, Southern & Western, and Outer Metropolitan Zones.
 - The NSWBA Qualifying event qualifies 3 teams to the Final Series.
- 3. Entries
 - 3.1 Any team that participated in a club qualifying event is eligible to play in the Metropolitan Final. The entry fee for such teams is \$60 per team and will be paid by the participating club.
 - 3.2 Entries will be accepted into the Metropolitan Final from teams that have not qualified via a club qualifying event. The entry fee for such teams is \$140 per team. Entry should be made via the NSWBA website: <u>http://www.nswba.com.au/tourn/eventDetails.asp?tid=2382&T=S</u>
- 4. Yellow Systems are not permitted in the Metropolitan Final. Yellow Systems will be permitted in the State Final in accordance with the NSWBA regulations in force at the time.
- 5. The Director must be qualified at Congress Level C1 or above.
- 6. Format. The event will be run as a standard Swiss Teams competition playing either seven 8-board matches or six 9-board matches, dependent on the number of entries received and the Director's discretion. The appropriate WBF continuous IMP to VP conversion scale will be used.
- 7. Substitutions are to be in accordance with the standard NSWBA substitution regulations.
- 8. Assuming a minimum entry of 24 teams, cash prizes of 1st \$480, 2nd \$240 and 3rd \$120 will be awarded. The NSWBA reserves the right to reduce these prizes if fewer than 24 teams enter.
- 9. Progression to the State Finals to be held at the NSWBA Fri 9 Sun 11 December 2016.
- 9.1 Two teams will qualify to the State Final. Provided at least 12 teams have entered via club qualifying competitions, one place in the State Final will be offered to these teams in finishing order. The other space in the State Final will be offered to the entire field in finishing order.
- 9.2 Offer of a place in the State Final will be made only to teams consisting wholly of players eligible to participate in a Metropolitan Zone club qualifying event.
- 9.3 Further information about the Final of the John Arkinstall State Teams (including prizes and the supplementary tournament regulations) can be found on the NSWBA website at http://www.nswba.com.au/tourn/state/se.asp?Y=2016&E=sot.
- 10. Red masterpoints will be awarded at State Championship (level B) using a weighting of 5.0.
- 11. Timetable. Clubs should note the following dates:
 Club results to be received by the Organiser by: Monday 12 September 2016
 Metropolitan Final at the NSWBA: Sunday 18 September 2016 at 10.00 am
 State Open Teams Finals at the NSWBA: Friday 9 Sunday 11 December 2016
- 12. The Organiser of the Metropolitan Teams on behalf of the NSWBA is Michael Wilkinson. email: <u>sotmetro@nswba.com.au</u> Mobile: 0459 981 124